RSS

MOOOOSE!

20 Nov

So this morning I figured out how much Rory REALLY loves me.  Today is football Sunday.  Football Sunday happens to be his favorite day of the week (one that he looks forward to continuously) where he sits on the couch, relaxes, watches the game, has a few beers, and has his man time.  Today happens to be his LAST Football Sunday before work starts for the winter which could potentially eliminate Football Sundays all together.

For all of you who know Rory, you know how much he likes to sleep.  I found that out the hard way the first time we went camping years back by accidentally interrupting his precious slumber.  On a weekend especially, you do not want to wake him up before 10. Period.  After 10 though, you’re in the clear and his “Minnesota nice” usually comes out in full effect.

Now, on to how I figured out how much he really loves me.  This morning, after a night out to see the TGR movie premier and having a few cocktails, Rory woke up with me at 5:15am, in the dark, dressed in layers for the negative six degree crisp Teton Valley weather, and drove an hour away, over Teton Pass, to get to Grand Teton National Park before sunrise.  BEFORE SUNRISE.  Last week, as you may have read in a past post, we stopped into a photo gallery and talked to a man about seeing wildlife.  He said the best time to look was at first light.  This morning, we saw.  It was amazing.  He drove me around the park, pulling over as many times as my little heart desired so I could hop out and take pictures.  He turned around when I wanted, and even suggested going down different roads.  He kept his tired eyes PEELED all morning looking for any kind of wildlife we could spot.  What. A. Guy.

We spotted like 6 moose, countless elk and tons of antelope!  They were so close to the side of the road, and some even walked right in front of the car!  I couldn’t believe it!  This was my first time shooting any moose, so my pictures aren’t great, but it was fun to be able to see them.  The picture of the elk wasn’t easy to get because he was RUNNING through a field and across the road so bare with me.  Hope you like my first attempt!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S.  I love you, Rory.  Thank you for experiencing this with me without a single question.  You are amazing!  I’m sorry you’re spending your last Football Sunday in bed, catching up on much needed sleep.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “MOOOOSE!

  1. Mike Grice

    November 20, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    That is so ridiculously awesome….Ive been jealous of your adventures since day one and now it just hurts….Good job!

     

Leave a comment